I write from a new location and a (fairly) new life.

I write from Eureka, California, and it feels like an amazing thing that I can even craft together a sentence.

I’ve been living here for just over two months.  Of that time, I’ve been living alone for almost a month and a half.

I have my own apartment, I have my own corner of the world, I have my Nekkid Time!

It’s eleven-thirty on a Tuesday night, and I’m back from my second job.  A retail job, it’s not glitz and glamour, no.  But it does help me get established in what feels like a small town compared to the world-on-an-island also known as New York City..

So I’m not at the top of the game in anyone’s world, but much like Rudolph, I wasn’t much into games in the first place.

This city, with its tweakers and sneakers, its crabbers and snappers, its salty and its salty and its sweet.  For all intents and purposes, it is, in fact, home.

For someone who was sold on living out her days in Brooklyn, getting a coffee and bagel at the local deli seemed the penultimate on any given Sunday.  Now I just want a day off from both of my jobs so I can sleep in and visit the docks.  To get a nose full of salt water, acquire a gelato and get some pictures of the bay is a goal I yearn for.

Things are quieter and a bit calmer here.  We don’t Seamless or GrubHub here, we don’t have a subway, and Uber is simply a chic adjective in these parts.  I like it and am finding my footing in a somewhat sleepy town.

And now I sleep to dream.

